Many of our patients experience great relief with their TMJ or sleep apnea symptoms. We’d like to have them share their experience with you. Here is what just a few had to say:

COMFORTABLE!!! That is the best word I can use to describe how I feel about Dr. Pribyl and his incredible team. I had suffered from TMJ headaches for eight years before I was referred to Dr. Pribyl. Sherry did my initial testing and made me feel so comfortable when I was so apprehensive about the whole thing. Then Cetta started taking care of me and always asking about my family and sharing some about hers. Dr. Pribyl always shakes my hand and makes me feel at home when I am asking questions. He is so down to earth and personable. I can’t believe this incredible journey I have been on with his staff. Jimmy was job shadowing when I first met him and just hasn’t ever left. When Angie started I enjoyed getting to know her too and she is always so friendly. Julie had the pleasure of getting “broken in” when she got to work on my braces.

I have had x-rays, appliances, impressions, braces, more impressions, retainers and even a treatment for the headache pain early on. Through it all I can say that I am blessed to have met Dr. Pribyl and his team. They work together as a family and know their patients and show patience to everyone, even when my dog ate my retainers and when the rubber bands just wouldn’t go on as planned.

My headaches had made me miserable and I would compare them to migraines. I would have to sleep them off and use ice packs. Now, I can say that my headaches are gone and my ice pack days are over. I will still wear an appliance at night to protect my jaw. Thank you Dr. Pribyl, Cetta, Sherry, Angie, Julie, and Jimmy for the care and attention that you give to all your patients!

-Amanda


Dr. Pribyl & Staff: Where have the past few years gone? I won’t be able to thank you enough for being such an excellent team. You were always so accommodating and taking into consideration all of my questions and concerns. It’s odd to say I actually looked forward to going to the “dentist” (though you were so much more than that.) Keep on doing what you do best. Your patients are in good hands. I will think about you all from time to time when I look at my teeth or think about my jaw. It was a pleasure to get to know you.

-Ashley


In the summer of 2018 I decided I wanted to get Invisalign or braces for my teeth. My front teeth were crooked and my bottom teeth were very crowded and crooked.  I told a friend of mine, what I wanted to do.  She recommended I talk to Dr. Pribyl, a dentist she worked with, because my bite was off, too.  I scheduled an appointment with Dr. Pribyl thinking he would recommend some type of braces for me.  At my first consultation I had pictures and measurements and all types of helpful x-rays.  When I met with Dr. Pribyl for the results of all the findings, he told me my teeth were folding in because my tongue did not lay correctly in my mouth.  This was causing a closing of my throat.  Dr Pribyl said I could just have my teeth straightened or I could have an ALF which would correct my mouth and airway problems.  I decided to get the ALF in October of 2018.   I wear it 24 hours a day and only take it out to clean it, waterpik and brush.  Dr. Pribyl also recommenced I see an oral myologist to help me with my tongue.  The therapist that he recommended has been excellent.  I have been seeing her for over a year, and during that time I had a frenectomy to help give me more movement with my tongue.  I also wear a mouth guard at night to help encourage my nasal breathing.  I see a cranial sacral therapist and a physical therapist.  I feel they have all helped to enhance my progress.  I have been very impressed with Dr. Pribyl’s staff.  Everyone I have worked with is professional and knowledgeable.  I am seeing a lot of movement with my teeth and my breathing and swallowing have significantly improved.  I am very happy with the care and results I am seeing as a result of my ALF.

-Brenda


Where do I start? Dr. Larry is just a one of a kind man who has been not only been our orthodontist, but someone who we would call a close family friend. My family and I started coming to Dr. Larry when I was 13 years old. I also have two younger siblings who also are Dr. Larry’s patients. When we would go into see Dr. Larry, boy was it an adventure. Dr. Larry would always make us laugh. I remember always asking “is it time to take these off yet” every visit! (asking about my braces) Dr. Larry always said it was because I didn’t want to see him anymore, but truth be told I loved coming into the office. Finally, when I got my braces off, it was my brother’s turn to start his preparation for his full metal mouth. When he was done, my sister began. There were always adventures and stories to be told!

Overall Dr. Larry is a wonderful orthodontist, he has treated my whole family with braces and we all have pearly white straight teeth, thanks to him. It has been a wonderful experience with him and his staff. We are always treated like family and that has never changed.    Feeling at ease when you visit your orthodontist is always a plus. We have nothing but good things to say. Dr. Larry has made our smiles beautiful and makes us use those smile every time we visit! We just love Dr. Larry!

-Ashlyn


Hello! My name is Brandon, I am 21 a year old college student who was diagnosed with TM (TMJ) Disorder last year. For many months before my diagnosis my jaw was irritating me with sharp pain as well as other symptoms, I had a constant loud popping of my jaw as I chewed. I have had problems with migraine-like headaches behind the eyes for many months before going to see Dr. Pribyl. Since attending the Center for TMJ and Sleep Apnea my condition has improved tremendously. I no longer have that sharp pain or headaches as before, and my jaw no longer pops. I am extremely pleased with the results I am seeing! Although, it has been hard to not eat the different foods I enjoy so much (chewy or hard food), due to excessive strenuous activity on my jaw, the sacrifice has been well worth it! To top everything off, the patient care is phenomenal! Each and every employee makes you feel at home and to be honest they all really feel like family. Dr. Pribyl has made my experience very enjoyable and helped with understanding the process of TMJ Disorder treatment. I would highly recommend this office to anyone suffering from TMJ Disorder or Sleep Apnea or in need of orthodontics. Those who wish to learn more about these disorders, this is the place to go! The only thing I am not looking forward to is finishing the treatment at Dr. Pribyl’s Office, as there will be less scheduled visits to the office which I look forward to every other month!

-Brandon


I first met Dr Pribyl and his staff in 2008. By the time I made it to him, I had been through months of torture and had given up due to my pain. At one point I even told myself I was going to die, as I was unable to eat or drink anything without my jaw falling out of place, thus losing twenty seven pounds. However my first time meeting Dr Pribyl, I could tell he knew what he was doing and I had hope once again.

Almost five years later, with certain situations out of mine or Dr Pribyl’s hands, I am at a place with my jaw that I believe to be at a 100 percent, if you can ever call my situation one where you can get to that point. I recommend Dr Pribyl’s office to everyone I hear of with jaw issues as I know in my experience he is the best at what he does. Everything happens for a reason, and for this I am grateful. His office has always treated me as a person, not an illness. I look forward to my monthly appointments because of the kindness and laughter Dr Pribyl and his staff show. They are truly sincere and make a big impact on the people they care for.

-Barbie


When I first came to Dr. Pribyl’s office, I was suffering from terrible pain in my jaw. My jaw would lock, making my life extremely frustrating. Ever since I was a small child my jaw popped and clicked. I thought it was completely normal. After my first few visits at this office, I had many new mouth appliances. Now two years later my jaw never locks, I can open my mouth very wide and my jaw joint noises have decreased exponentially! Everyone in the office has been so kind and helpful. I look forward to every appointment because I know we will have more fun than the last. If I’ve learned anything from the past two years it is that Dr. Pribyl and his entire staff is great at addressing jaw and posture related issues.

-Carly


I am a 55 year old female who most of my life have been a challenging patient for my doctors by having quirky ailments that make me difficult to treat. I was diagnosed with sleep apnea more than 20 years ago. I wasn’t able to use my CPAP very well so I had surgery to remove the soft palate tissue (an extremely painful procedure). My condition was left without further investigation or treatment until my health prompted it again. I was referred to Dr. Pribyl, who with his kind and knowledgeable staff, fitted me with an oral appliance. Again, I was not an easy patient to treat, but Dr. Pribyl didn’t give up on me and now my apneic scores are low and I am able to sleep well enough to dream again! Something I had not been able to do for years! Bless Dr. Pribyl and his staff for making such a difference in my life!

-Connie


Hi! My name is Connie. I have had headaches, earaches, jaw pain and burning in my face severely. I went to see an ear, nose and throat specialist, chiropractors and my family doctor. My face and jaw hurt so bad I got to the point where I couldn’t sleep because the pain was so intense. I missed a lot of work and no one at all could tell me what was wrong. I felt crazy. So on September 4, 2012 on a Sunday afternoon I went to my computer and said God I cannot do this anymore I’m hurting and no one can tell me what is wrong. When I turned on my computer I looked under “TMJ” and thought maybe that’s what was wrong. Dr. Larry Pribyl’s name came up. I called his office on September 5, 2012 and got into his office that very day. I was nervous and thought I hope I can get some answers on what was wrong with me. Dr Pribyl did a CT scan and found out my problem and it felt great because I wasn’t crazy. The pain I felt was real. Dr Pribyl and his staff gave me my life back.

What I really like is that you feel like family in Dr. Pribyl’s office and not just a patient. It’s a good feeling when you walk into this office and everyone cares about how you are doing I will always be grateful that I went to this wonderful doctor’s office. It has changed my life. Thank you all for the wonderful care.

-Connie


Dr. Pribyl and his staff have tremendously helped me get my life back to ‘normal’. I suffered years of migraines, daily headaches and neck pain. Much time and money was spent on weekly chiropractor visits, neck injections, prescription medication for migraines and nothing was a permanent fix! UNTIL meeting Dr. Pribyl, I truly was in pain daily. At my first appointment here, Yes, I was skeptical with the initial tests & possible devices… because for YEARS nothing worked.   However, after seeing my CT and other diagnostic test results, I thought this could possibly be the miracle I needed. After wearing my daytime and nighttime devices for less than three weeks, I was HEADACHE FREE. I’m six months into treatment and I am beyond pleased. I trust Dr. Pribyl and his staff completely. They have been wonderful and care for not only your physical health, but they care for you as a whole person. They’re kind, fun, caring, patient and very knowledgeable. You can’t ask for much more than that. It’s one of the best decisions I’ve made. Ever.

-Carrie


As I sit here and write this testimonial, I can say I am no longer in constant pain. A year ago, I could hardly get through the day. My jaw had been dislocated during a minor sinus surgery. No one figured out what was wrong for a couple of months. I went to KU Med Center, Truman Med Center, and an oral surgeon in Dallas, TX after it was finally determined my jaw was dislocated. Basically, I was told to “live with it.”  I was told to avoid eating certain foods forever, including salad! The continuous headaches and pain in my jaw was horrific. I did not want to participate in anything. Going to work was a chore; talking on the phone was an effort. Talking at all was an effort.

Then I found Dr. Pribyl and his wonderful staff. They were so caring from the first time I met them! The first course of treatment was to use a daytime appliance and also a nighttime appliance, both to keep the jaw joint space decompressed and allow the cartilage to slip back into place, or at least get in a healthier position. Then, Dr. Pribyl put amalgam (the stuff fillings are made of) on six of my teeth to improve my bite, which I had never had a problem with before the jaw was dislocated.

I will have TMD the rest of my life, so I will be wearing the nighttime appliance from now on. If I go to bed without it, I always get up to get it because I just can’t sleep without it!

I am so thankful to Dr. Pribyl and his staff! They saved me from a lifetime of never-ending pain! I don’t know what I would have done without them!

-Dana


I have suffered from TMJ/TMD for over ten years. It started with popping in my jaw joint when I would eat and soon after that my jaw locked up. I could barely open my mouth. I went to physical therapy and got back to the point where I could open mouth and went about my daily life. Since that time I’ve known I was a sufferer of TMJ/TMD. In my research I found that most doctors just kind of shrug it off and say that it will heal itself. From time to time I would seek chiropractic treatments and also have electrical stimulation near the jaw joint done. These treatments would only give me a little relief. It wasn’t until several years later, when symptoms like neck and shoulder pain and tingling and numbness down my arm made me look deeper into my TMJ/TMD problem. I soon realized these were also symptoms of TMJ/TMD. My ENT (ear, nose and throat) doctor referred me to Dr. Pribyl and I’m so glad he did! Dr. Pribyl is one of the most patient, caring, and knowledgeable doctors that I have ever been to! His staff is just the same! Dr. Pribyl is always willing to do whatever it takes to relieve my pain. He has adjusted my appliances many times to try to keep them comfortable. He has referred me to a physical therapist and another ENT to try to get to the root of other problems that may be interfering with the treatment of my jaw. Dr. Pribyl and his staff genuinely care about “fixing me”, and I know that is how he and his staff feel about every patient. I highly recommend Dr. Pribyl to anyone who has been suffering from TMJ/TMD.

-Deb


I have been a patient at Dr. Pribyl’s office for more than ten years. During this time, I have been able to get to know the entire staff quite well.

Dr. Pribyl and his staff members are friendly, optimistic, caring, and compassionate. They provide a warm atmosphere where everyone, including patients, feel like family. They each have these character qualities while maintaining a professional environment at all times. Dr. Pribyl has a great sense of humor as well. I believe laughter is a great medicine. His perfect blend of care, knowledge, compassion and humor have brightened my day even during times of TMJ pain.

I have had to call Dr. Pribyl, after hours, due to severe TMJ pain. Though I was interfering with his personal time, he responded with genuine care and concern while listening intently. His staff worked me into his schedule the following day. They never made me feel like I was an imposition.

I will continue to drive from Lawrence, Kansas, for the outstanding level of care and treatment provided by Dr. Pribyl and his entire staff. My experiences are always positive, and I would never consider going anywhere else!

-Dawn


Dr. Pribyl and the girls at the Center for TMJ and Sleep Apnea have changed my life. I am not exaggerating about the effect they have had on me. Seven years ago, I began seeing Dr. Pribyl for my popping jaw and headaches. I thought having a jaw pop every time I ate was normal and I also thought everyone woke up in the morning with headaches because I had been experiencing that for years. As Dr. Pribyl began helping me and my jaw stopped popping and my headaches went away, I realized that I should have contacted him years before. Over the years, Dr. Pribyl has aligned my jaw so that I can eat and sleep comfortably. I am so grateful to him and would recommend him to ANYONE!

-Emily


Dr. Pribyl and his staff have helped me tremendously. Dr. Pribyl knows his work and he takes the time to explain things. He is always open to answering questions as is his staff. He gives very individualized treatments and makes sure you are doing well before progressing. Treatment for TMJ is a slow and complicated process, but the treatments I have received work and have made a big difference in that my pain level is now mostly zero. That is a lot different than when I started treatment and wouldn’t think of going anywhere else for my TMJ issues.

-Grace


I came to Dr. Pribyl a year ago in a lot of pain.  I’ve been reflecting lately on my health compared to that time. I feel like my “old self” is back now. Nearly all of my TMJ pain is gone. I never realized how much pain I was truly in until it started being slowly eliminated. My family is very important to me and I can more joyfully serve them thanks to you!

-Heidi


I am a 57 year old woman who has had problems with my jaw since I was a young child.

Dr. Pribyl was able to pinpoint my problems in one visit. He laid out a treatment plan and we started right away. From the first day I started wearing my appliances the pain began to subside.  After a week, I was pain free.  Since my jaw no longer hurt, my general health was better and oddly enough, my posture improved. (My employer mentioned this to me.)  I seldom have headaches and neck pain anymore. I continue to see Dr. Pribyl a couple times a year to check my appliances and make sure everything is still on track.

Dr. Pribyl always takes the time to listen if I have concerns.  He explains what he is doing every step of the way.

I have recommended Dr. Pribyl to others that are having jaw pain.  I appreciate the wonderful care Dr. Pribyl has given me.  He has changed my life!

-Jeanne


Dr. Pribyl and his staff are like family. They are so warm and welcoming. They are very receptive to my pain and concerns. When I first came to Dr. Pribyl’s office, chewing was so painful for me. I was quickly fitted with a mouthpiece and my pain became very manageable very quickly. Now I don’t have any pain related to my jaw issues at all. I am so thankful.

-Jane


I am a 21-year-old female and have been a patient with Dr. Pribyl for four years now. I have a condition where both discs in my jaw are out of place and my jaw joint is degenerating (TMJ). I was experiencing stiffness, jaw pain, clicking/popping, and occasional locking in my jaw. I was put into a splint/mouth piece that I wore 24/7. Initially, I was worried it would look weird. However, no one can even tell I’m wearing one and it has helped me a lot! Not even a year into treatment, all of my jaw problems were significantly better. For the last year, I have had no pain! I have received excellent care from Dr. Pribyl and his staff! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. They are invested in their patients’ lives and do everything they can to help and make sure you are feeling better. Every staff member knows my name and I feel like family when I come in. I always leave with a smile on my face. Coming to The Center for TMJ and Sleep Apnea was one of the best decisions of my life!

-Jordan


I have come to rely on Dr. Pribyl and his staff concerning my TMJ treatment.

They are professional, compassionate, and caring people who do all that they can to make my visits as stress-free as possible. I know that I can call any of them and they will be more than willing to address any concerns I might have. I am glad I found Dr. Pribyl to help with my pain issues.

-Judy


Before I came to Dr. Pribyl’s office, I had a loud popping noise and a loud grinding noise that occurred on the right side of my jaw every time I opened my mouth. To open my mouth all the way, I had to move my lower jaw to the left, let it pop, and then open. I could not open my mouth very wide at all. If I chewed too much my jaw would become sore as if being overused. I could not open my mouth as far as I used to (though I was unaware of this until seeing the CT scan results and comparing how wide I can open my mouth now!). At Dr. Pribyl’s office, I was given the treatment of a lower oral appliance to be worn during the day and an upper for nighttime wear.

Eight months later, the popping and grinding noises, though still present, are very muted and hardly noticeable. I no longer have to move my lower jaw to the side to open my mouth all the way, I can open my mouth considerably wider, and there are little to no occurrences of pain due to overuse of my jaw. It has been a blessing to have worked with Dr. Pribyl’s office! The staff is kind and personal to everyone. They remember each patient’s name and greet you with a smile when you walk into the office. I very much appreciate the staff and Dr. Pribyl and all they’ve done for me!

-Jamie


My long journey with TMJ begins about 15 years ago. I woke up one day and by jaw was locked shut. Since that day, I have seen multiple orthodontists, surgeons, dentists, and chiropractors. I have tried heat, ice, pain relievers, and essential oils. Nothing worked and I was miserable.

During an evaluation from a physical therapist who specialized in TMJ, she told me there was no way to help me. My condition was too severe. She then referred me to Dr. Pribyl. His office is quite far from my home, but at that point, I had nothing to lose. When I met the staff for the first time, they were so warm and welcoming. I was in for a long process of specialized tests that only Dr. Pribyl had ever offered me. After the testing, I found out just how bad my jaw joint was. I had minimal range of motion, my pain was extremely high. I had constant headaches, I wasn’t sleeping well, and I had lost a lot of weight. To put it lightly I was absolutely miserable and feeling hopeless.

Dr. Pribyl presented a plan of care for me that entailed a long process, but I would do ANYTHING to feel better. After multiple visits and appliances, I am set to get braces this spring. I have never been happier to get braces, and the reason for that is Dr. Pribyl is setting my jaw in a new alignment because I no longer have pain!!! I am sleeping!!!! I can eat most everything that I want!!! I still have a long journey ahead, but I have faith that Dr. Pribyl and his staff will continue to help me.

I am getting ready to move out of town and will continue my journey with Dr. Pribyl. I would drive, fly, or take a train to come see him. He is so highly skilled and trained to do what he does. One thing that sets him and his staff above everyone else is they LISTEN to the problems. They get down to the issue and address it, not mask the symptoms. I have the highest amount of confidence in him and his staff and recommend them to anyone that I know that has issues with their jaw.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

-Kelsey


If you are looking for patient-centered, high-quality treatment of your jaw and teeth, see Dr. Pribyl. He and his staff are attentive, caring, and well-educated. I’m a long-time patient of Dr. Pribyl and he has provided excellent care for my jaw problems and all of the associated issues that come with TMJ disorder (i.e., sleep apnea, overall dental health, associated muscle and joint pain and mobility problems, and the need for pain management). He has always given me excellent referrals for complementary services when I needed them. I’ve made a lot of progress under Dr. Pribyl’s care and I’m looking forward to the next phase of treatment!

-Stephanie H.


I first met Dr. Pribyl about seven years ago when my jaw was locked and I couldn’t open it more than 11 mm. Dr Pribyl and his staff have always been kind, helpful in using different therapy techniques and sympathetic to any pain I had. He was able to assist me on the road to recovery using different dental appliances and exercises. Although my particular case of TMJ has not disappeared, Dr Pribyl and his staff have never given up on me and through their assistance, I have been able to live pain free for a long time and anticipate the same for many years to come.

Thank you,

-Stacy


When I first came to Dr. Pribyl’s office, I had been eating out of a food processor for about four months. I could barely open my mouth and my bite no longer aligned for me to be able to chew. I couldn’t seem to find any help (besides one surgeon who said I needed two surgeries to correct the problem). After seeing about six other specialists, and a lot of prayer, it felt right to continue with treatment through Dr. Pribyl and his wonderful staff. It felt so good to finally find help and find a place that I felt was right for me. They are all so loving, kind, gentle, and truly care about me. I started with physical therapy and two oral appliances. After about four months of time, I was able to chew again and I could start to open my mouth wider. After nine months or so, I was opening my mouth at a healthy range, which some doctors had told me I would never be able to do again. I cannot say how thankful I am to Dr. Pribyl and all of his wonderful staff. They have been such a blessing to me and I can’t imagine what might have happened without them!

-Tiffany


I had originally gone to another well-known orthodontist for my TMJ and teeth alignment. The complexity of my problem was beyond his abilities so he referred me to Dr. Pribyl. Dr. Pribyl diagnosed my problem and quickly devised a common sense solution of appliances and braces. He started treatment with an appliance that repositioned my jaw and stopped the TMJ pain and clicking sounds immediately. Since then, I have made many visits to his office for adjustments and follow-ups and it’s something I look forward to each time. He and his staff are professionals and it definitely shows in their work. They have earned my trust (which isn’t easy).

-Roger


Hi! My name is Connie. I have had headaches, earaches, jaw pain and burning in my face severely. I went to see an ear, nose and throat specialist, chiropractors and my family doctor. My face and jaw hurt so bad I got to the point where I couldn’t sleep because the pain was so intense. I missed a lot of work and no one at all could tell me what was wrong. I felt crazy. So on September 4th, 2012 on a Sunday afternoon I went to my computer and said God I cannot do this anymore I’m hurting and no one can tell me what is wrong. When I turned on my computer I looked under “TMJ” and thought maybe that’s what was wrong. Dr. Larry Pribyl’s name came up. I called his office on September 5th, 2012 and got into his office that very day. I was nervous and thought I hope I can get some answers on what was wrong with me. Dr Pribyl did a CT scan and found out my problem and it felt great because I wasn’t crazy. The pain I felt was real. Dr Pribyl and his staff gave me my life back.

What I really like is that you feel like family in Dr. Pribyl’s office and not just a patient. It’s a good feeling when you walk into this office and everyone cares about how you are doing I will always be grateful that I went to this wonderful doctor’s office. It has changed my life. Thank you all for the wonderful care.

-Connie


I am a 55 year old female who most of my life have been a challenging patient for my doctors by having quirky ailments that make me difficult to treat. I was diagnosed with sleep apnea more than 20 years ago. I wasn’t able to use my CPAP very well so I had surgery to remove the soft palate tissue (an extremely painful procedure). My condition was left without further investigation or treatment until my health prompted it again. I was referred to Dr. Pribyl, who with his kind and knowledgeable staff, fitted me with an oral appliance. Again, I was not an easy patient to treat, but Dr. Pribyl didn’t give up on me and now my apneic scores are low and I am able to sleep well enough to dream again! Something I had not been able to do for years! Bless Dr. Pribyl and his staff for making such a difference in my life!

-Connie


I first met Dr Pribyl and his staff in 2008. By the time I made it to him, I had been through months of torture and had given up due to my pain. At one point I even told myself I was going to die, as I was unable to eat or drink anything without my jaw falling out of place, thus losing twenty seven pounds. However my first time meeting Dr Pribyl, I could tell he knew what he was doing and I had hope once again.

Almost five years later, with certain situations out of mine or Dr Pribyl’s hands, I am at a place with my jaw that I believe to be at a 100 percent, if you can ever call my situation one where you can get to that point. I recommend Dr Pribyl’s office to everyone I hear of with jaw issues as I know in my experience he is the best at what he does. Everything happens for a reason, and for this I am grateful. His office has always treated me as a person, not an illness. I look forward to my monthly appointments because of the kindness and laughter Dr Pribyl and his staff show. They are truly sincere and make a big impact on the people they care for.

-Barbie